FAQ

FAQ

How long is the working life of a printing pad?

How long is the working life of a printing pad? Here several factors have an influence:

a) The colors and separating agents react differently

b) The amount of the press-force respectively degree of deformation

c) The surface condition of the product to be printed

In the best case a printing pad can resist hundreds of thousands printings. Perhaps it can only resist 100 pieces at a sharp-edged product to be printed with an aggressive color and a strong deformation of the printing pad. On average you can plan with a few thousand print strokes.

Can you extend the working life?

Yes, you should give the printing pad the time to regenerate. For example wait a whole day after an application of 8 hours. The recovery process can be supported by maintenance oil. Here the care product is massaged in and sprayed on the pad surface.

What means medium hardness?

The unit for the hardness is Shore A. This is not uncontroversial. The relative error in the used lower range is very high and the measuring minimum rather amounts to 10 Shore A. But for some printing problems, like for example the printing of glass, the utilization of very soft printing pads is necessary. Because of the fact that here a classification in Shore A is no longer possible, you have to change to Shore 00, which is qualified as essentially softer. A very soft printing pad has a hardness of 35 Shore 00.

What is hardness 00?

The unit for the hardness is Shore A. This is not uncontroversial. The relative error in the used lower range is very high and the measuring minimum rather amounts to 10 Shore A. But for some printing problems, like for example the printing of glass, the utilization of very soft printing pads is necessary. Because of the fact that here a classification in Shore A is no longer possible you have to change to Shore 00, which is qualified as essentially softer. A very soft printing pad has a hardness of 35 Shore 00.

Which advantages do hard printing pads for example in 12 Shore A have?

Hard printing pads increase the sharpness of the printing format. It has a pin sharp quality.

Which advantages do extremely hard printing pads for example 24 Shore A have?

Only in a small minority of cases extremely hard printing pads are used. Because of the strong pressing the color application is very thin and eventually must be printed repeatedly to achieve a covering of the motive.

The number 854 in 6 Shore A, or for longer letterings the number 855 in 6 Shore A.

The number 854 in 6 Shore A, or for longer letterings the number 855 in 6 Shore A.

How big should the printing pad be?

The bigger, the better, because distortions can better be absorbed.

Does the climate have an influence?

More than you think. The air humidity plays an important role. Excessively dry air immensely complicates the printing and electrostatic charges can appear.

Why screenings are used?

The design can be seen as a cavity in the cliché. A doctor blade moves over the cliché and only leaves the color in the cavity. The blade could scratch the color out of the cavity when the blade is sagging. A screening of the motive avoids this. This problem is very limited for a doctoring cup of a closed system. A further advantage of a screening is the reduction of air inclusions. A disadvantage is the slightly lower ink application. By the way plastic clichés are generally screened due to the nature of the material.

Which screening should be used?

Dot screens with a coverage of 90 %. The size varies from very fine 120 L/cm to rough 60L/cm.

Interesting Facts

FAQ

FAQ

Wie lange hält ein Drucktampon?

Einfluss haben hier mehrere Faktoren.

a) Die Farben und Lösemittel reagieren unterschiedlich.
b) Die Höhe der Presskraft, bzw. des Verformungsgrad.
c) Die Oberflächenbeschaffenheit des Druckgutes.

Im Optimalfall kann ein Drucktampon Hunderttausende von Drucken aushalten. Bei einem scharfkantigen Druckgut, mit einer aggressiven Farbe und einer starken Verformung des Drucktampons nur vielleicht Hundert Stück. Im Durchschnitt kann man aber ein paar Tausend Drucktakte einplanen.

Kann man die Lebensdauer verlängern?

Ja, man sollte dem Drucktampon Zeit zum regenerieren geben. Zum Beispiel nach acht Stunden Einsatz einen ganzen Tag warten. Unterstützen kann man den Erholungsprozess durch Pflegeöl. Hierbei wird das Pflegemittel in die Drucktamponoberfläche einmassiert oder aufgesprüht.

Was ist eine mittlere Härte?

Als Einheit der Härte hat sich Shore A durchgesetzt. Dieses ist nicht unumstritten. Der relative Fehler ist im eingesetzten niedrigen Bereich sehr hoch und eigentlich ist das Messminimum 10 Shore A. Bei einigen Druckproblemen, zum Beispiel beim Bedrucken von Glas, ist aber das Einsetzen sehr weicher Drucktampons notwendig. Da hier eine Zuordnung in Shore A nicht mehr möglich ist, muss man auf das wesentlich weicher eingestufte Shore 00 wechseln. Ein sehr weicher Drucktampon hat eine Härte von 35 Shore 00.

Was ist die Härte 00 ?

Als Einheit der Härte hat sich Shore A durchgesetzt. Dieses ist nicht unumstritten. Der relative Fehler ist im eingesetzten niedrigen Bereich sehr hoch und eigentlich ist das Messminimum 10 Shore A. Bei einigen Druckproblemen, zum Beispiel beim Bedrucken von Glas, ist aber das Einsetzen sehr weicher Drucktampons notwendig. Da hier eine Zuordnung in Shore A nicht mehr möglich ist, muss man auf das wesentlich weicher eingestufte Shore 00 wechseln. Ein sehr weicher Drucktampon hat eine Härte von 35 Shore 00.

Welchen Vorteil haben harte Drucktampons, zum Beispiel in 12 Shore A?

Harte Drucktampons erhöhen die Schärfe des Druckbildes, es sieht gestochen scharf aus.

Welchen Vorteil haben extrem harte Drucktampons, zum Beispiel in 24 Shore A?

Nur in sehr seltenen Fällen werden extrem harte Drucktampons eingesetzt. Der Farbauftrag wird durch das starke Pressen sehr dünn und es muss eventuell mehrfach aufeinander gedruckt werden um das Motiv deckend zu bekommen.

Welchen Drucktampon sollte ich für Feuerzeuge einsetzen?

Die Nummer 854 in 6 Shore A, oder bei längeren Schriftzügen die Nummer 855 in 6 Shore A.

Wie groß sollte der Drucktampon sein?

Je größer desto besser, da die Verzerrungen besser absorbiert werden.

Hat das Klima einen Einfluss?

Ja, stärker als man denkt. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit spielt eine wesentliche Rolle. Zu trockene Luft erschwert das Drucken ungemein und elektrostatische Aufladungen können auftreten.

Warum setzt man ein Raster ein?

Das Motiv ist in dem Klischee als Vertiefung zu sehen. Ein Rakelmesser fährt über das Klischee und hinterlässt nur die Farbe in der Vertiefung. Hierbei könnte das Messer die Farbe aus der Vertiefung herauskratzen, wenn sich das Messer durchbiegt. Eine Rasterung des Motivs verhindert dieses. Ein Rakeltopf aus einem geschlossenen System hat dieses Problem nur sehr begrenzt. Ein weiterer Vorteil einer Rasterung ist die Reduzierung von Lufteinschlüssen. Ein Nachteil wäre der etwas geringere Farbauftrag. Kunststoffklischees sind im übrigen materialbedingt generell gerastert.

Was für ein Raster sollte man verwenden?

Punktraster mit 90% Deckung. Die Größe variiert von sehr fein 120L/cm bis grob 60L/cm.